Château de Château-l'Evêque

  • Historic site and monument
  • Château
  • Wash-house
Rue du Château, 24460 Château-l'Évêque
The Château of Château l'Evêque (formerly Château l'Evêque in Pressac before the creation of the commune of the same name in 1831) was the former Episcopal Château of the Bishops of Périgueux and their favourite residence. The first buildings date from the 10th century, then two fortresses were erected in 1347 by Bishop Adhémar de Neuville to defend the northern entrance to Périgueux. These fortresses were remodelled and linked together at the end of the 15th century and completed around 1515/1520. The seat of religious power until 1793, this castle, whose authority spread throughout Périgord and which can be compared with the four Baronies of Périgord, has had a tumultuous history right up to the present day.

Services

Car park
Picnic area
Animals accepted

Rates

Basic price - full adult price
€10.00

Basic price - full adult price
€3.00

Basic price - full adult price

Basic price - full adult price

Payment methods

CashCash

Openings

From 1 April 2026 until 31 October 2026 -

Location

Château de Château-l'Evêque
Rue du Château, 24460 Château-l'Évêque

Spoken languages

Spoken languages
  • French
  • English
  • Italian

Environment

Environment
  • In the country
  • In the village
Report mistake
Filter search
Filter search
  • Grand public
  • Site groupe
  • VDPRO
Page types
  • All
  • Articles
  • Agenda
  • Lists